Land rights activist is NT's Aust of Year

Follow us on Google News:

A Mayili man who has been instrumental in securing sea country rights in Arnhem Land for traditional owners has been named the NT Australian of the Year. 

Samuel Bush-Blanasi, chair of the Northern Land Council, and three others were celebrated at the Darwin Convention Centre on Monday night. 

The four NT recipients will join those from the other states and territories for the national awards to be announced on 25 January 2023.

The 60-year-old has worked for decades at local and national levels to empower Indigenous Australians. 

As chair and deputy chair of the Northern Land Council, he has been instrumental in securing sea country rights in Arnhem Land for traditional owners, and the incorporation in 2022 of the Aboriginal Sea Company (ASC).

The ASC is the first of its kind and will enable traditional owners to oversee commercial fishing, aquacultureand other fishing-related activities along the Arnhem Land coastline.

It will provide employment and enable Aboriginal people to manage profitable and sustainable fishing.

Samuel has also supported native title claims, recently overseeing the historic hand-back of the remaining half of Kakadu National Park to 14 clan estate groups.

Nationally, he's pushed for reform of the Australian Constitution, joining forces with Indigenous leaders to host dialogue and develop the historic Uluru Statement from the Heart.

Suicide prevention campaigner Bernard Tipiloura is the 2023 NT Senior Australian of the Year.

The 2023 NT Young Australian of the Year is First Nations community leader, Jahdai Vigona.

Social worker and founder of Two Two One Mental Health Charity, Sacha King, is the 2023 NT Local Hero.

National Australia Day Council CEO Karlie Brand congratulated the award recipients from the NorthernTerritory.

"The NT award recipients are exceptional individuals committed to creating better futures - for their country, for community and for people," Ms Brand said.

"We look forward to welcoming them to Canberra for the national Australian of the Year Awards to be announced on 25 January 2023."


The content, including but not limited to any articles, news, quotes, information, data, text, reports, ratings, opinions, images, photos, graphics, graphs, charts, animations and video (Content) is a service of Kalkine Media Pty Ltd (Kalkine Media, we or us), ACN 629 651 672 and is available for personal and non-commercial use only. The principal purpose of the Content is to educate and inform. The Content does not contain or imply any recommendation or opinion intended to influence your financial decisions and must not be relied upon by you as such. Some of the Content on this website may be sponsored/non-sponsored, as applicable, but is NOT a solicitation or recommendation to buy, sell or hold the stocks of the company(s) or engage in any investment activity under discussion. Kalkine Media is neither licensed nor qualified to provide investment advice through this platform. Users should make their own enquiries about any investments and Kalkine Media strongly suggests the users to seek advice from a financial adviser, stockbroker or other professional (including taxation and legal advice), as necessary. Kalkine Media hereby disclaims any and all the liabilities to any user for any direct, indirect, implied, punitive, special, incidental or other consequential damages arising from any use of the Content on this website, which is provided without warranties. The views expressed in the Content by the guests, if any, are their own and do not necessarily represent the views or opinions of Kalkine Media. Some of the images/music that may be used on this website are copyright to their respective owner(s). Kalkine Media does not claim ownership of any of the pictures displayed/music used on this website unless stated otherwise. The images/music that may be used on this website are taken from various sources on the internet, including paid subscriptions or are believed to be in public domain. We have used reasonable efforts to accredit the source wherever it was indicated as or found to be necessary.

Featured Articles

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with it. OK