REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 6:00 a.m. SGT/10:00 p.m. GMT

Follow us on Google News:
 REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 6:00 a.m. SGT/10:00 p.m. GMT
Image source: ©2022 Kalkine Media®

Here are the top stories and upcoming coverage plans for Reuters text service as of 6:00 a.m. SGT/10:00 p.m. GMT. For a full schedule of news and events, go to our editorial calendar on Reuters Connect.


TOP STORIES

GLOBAL

UKRAINE-CRISIS/

NATO pledges more aid to Kyiv as air raid sirens blare again across Ukraine

NATO allies promised on Tuesday more arms for Kyiv and equipment to help restore Ukrainian power and heat knocked out by Russian missile and drone strikes, as air raid sirens blared across Ukraine for the first time this week.

GREECE-QUAKE

Earthquake rattles Greece, felt in Athens

An earthquake with a preliminary magnitude of 5.0 shook central Greece on Tuesday and was felt as far as Athens, according to witnesses, but there were no immediate reports of casualties or serious damage.

U.S.

USA-COURT/IMMIGRATION

U.S. Supreme Court mulls Biden immigration enforcement shift

U.S. Supreme Court justices on Tuesday struggled over a bid by President Joe Biden's administration to implement guidelines - challenged by two conservative-leaning states - shifting immigration enforcement toward countering public safety threats.

USA-TRUMP/ANTISEMITISM

Trump 'unlikely' to be president after hosting Fuentes, top Republican McConnell suggests

The top two Republicans in the U.S. Congress broke their silence on Tuesday about former President Donald Trump's dinner last week with white supremacist Nick Fuentes, saying the Republican Party has no place for antisemitism or white supremacy.

BUSINESS

FINTECH-CRYPTO/BLOCKFI-BANKRUPTCY

BlockFi tells U.S. bankruptcy court it is 'the antithesis of FTX'

Lawyers for BlockFi, the first direct casualty of crypto exchange FTX's collapse, made their initial appearance in U.S. bankruptcy court on Tuesday, emphasizing that the U.S. cryptocurrency lender was "the antithesis of FTX."

HSBC-DIVESTITURE/CANADA-RBC

RBC tightens grip at home with $10 bln HSBC Canada bid, regulatory risks loom

Royal Bank of Canada's swift move to buy HSBC's Canada unit for C$13.5 billion ($10 billion) strengthens its pole position at home, but faces a long road to clear regulatory challenges.

ENTERTAINMENT

PEOPLE-WILL SMITH/

Will Smith on slapping Chris Rock at Oscars: 'I lost it'

Actor Will Smith addressed the shocking moment he slapped and shouted a vulgarity at comedian Chris Rock for joking about his wife's hairstyle at this year's Oscars, saying "I lost it" and that he understood if some people were not ready yet to see his new film.

BRITAIN-TURKEYS/

Half of Britain's free-range Christmas turkeys lost to bird flu crisis

Britons may struggle to get hold of a free-range turkey or goose for the Christmas table this year after an industry head said about half of them have either died or been culled due to the country's largest-ever outbreak of avian flu.

SPORTS

SOCCER-WORLDCUP/IRAN-USA

U.S. defeat Iran in politically charged World Cup showdown

The United States triumphed on the pitch over longtime adversary Iran on Tuesday in a World Cup showdown overshadowed by protests raging in Iran and laced with decades of political tension between the two countries.

SOCCER-WORLDCUP-CRI-GER/

FIFA names first female refereeing trio for a men's World Cup

Stephanie Frappart, Neuza Back and Karen Diaz will become the first all-female refereeing team for a men's World Cup match as they have been named to take charge of the Costa Rica-Germany Group E match on Thursday, FIFA announced on Tuesday.

UPCOMING

BUSINESS / ECONOMICS

APPLE-CHINA/SUPPLIERS

Apple supply chain data shows trends in its exposure to China

Apple Inc's supply chain data for recent years offers clues to trends in the company's exposure to Chinese manufacturing, notable both for its low costs and rising risks, since the COVID-19 pandemic began.

30 Nov 20:00 ET / 00:00 GMT

PHILIPPINES-ECONOMY/

Philippines finance secretary speaks at a media forum

Philippines Finance Secretary Benjamin Diokno will speak at a media forum.

30 Nov 21:30 ET / 01:30 GMT

INDONESIA-ECONOMY/RATES

Indonesia's central bank holds annual meeting with financial stakeholders

Indonesia's central bank holds an annual meeting with financial stakeholders to outline 2023's monetary policy. President Joko Widodo is also expected to speak at the event.

30 Nov 22:00 ET / 02:00 GMT

FRANCE-SUGAR/

French sugar beet growers press conference

French sugar beet growers' union CGB holds a press conference before its annual assembly. To include harvest update and market outlook.

30 Nov

MEXICO-ECONOMY/

Mexico central bank updates inflation, growth forecasts with quarterly report

Mexico's central bank will publish its quarterly report, which will give updated inflation and economic growth forecasts.

30 Nov

REUTERS-NEXT/SOUTHKOREA-CENBANK (PIX)

REUTERS NEXT - Interview with Rhee Chang-yong, Korea Central Bank Governor

Live broadcast interview: Bank of Korea Governor Rhee Chang-yong on the quandary of surging inflation and a weakening won.

30 Nov 02:00 ET / 06:00 GMT

REUTERS-NEXT/KOTAK MAHINDRA

REUTERS NEXT - Interview with Uday Kotak, Kotak Mahindra Bank CEO

Live interview: Kotak Mahindra Bank CEO Uday Kotak on digital disruption, industry outlook

30 Nov 03:00 ET / 07:00 GMT

REUTERS-NEXT/ZAMBIA-FINANCE MINISTER

REUTERS NEXT - Interview with Situmbeko Musokotwane, Zambia Finance Minister

Live broadcast interview: Zambia Finance Minister Situmbeko Musokotwane on lifting the country’s heavy debt burden

30 Nov 05:20 ET / 09:20 GMT

REUTERS-NEXT/CRYPTO-CURRENCY

REUTERS NEXT - Interview with cryptocurrency entrepreneur Justin Sun

Live interview: Cryptocurrency entrepreneur Justin Sun on the prospects for a "crypto winter" through 2023

30 Nov 05:40 ET / 09:40 GMT

REUTERS-NEXT/ANGOLA-FINANCE MINISTER

REUTERS NEXT - Interview with Angola Finance Minister Vera Daves de Sousa

Live broadcast interview: Angola Finance Minister Vera Daves de Sousa on the country's sweeping economic reforms

30 Nov 06:30 ET / 10:30 GMT

REUTERS-NEXT/INDIA-FINANCE MINISTER

REUTERS NEXT - Interview with India Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman

Live interview: The Indian economy is seeing a revival in demand as we head into 2023, particularly from urban consumers. Led by government spending and incentives, there are also early signs of a pick-up in private investment after nearly a decade.

30 Nov 07:00 ET / 11:00 GMT

USA-FED/POWELL (PIX)

Reelin' in the year: Powell's pivot, Fed unity, and the war on inflation

The Federal Reserve started 2022 expecting a surge in inflation to subside as the pandemic-scarred economy got back to normal, and divided over how much the U.S. central bank might need to help the process with higher interest rates.

30 Nov 07:00 ET / 11:00 GMT

USA-FED/BOWMAN

Federal Reserve Board Governor Bowman speaks on future of small banks

Federal Reserve Board Governor Michelle Bowman participates in "The Future of Small Banks" discussion before "The Future of Minority Depository Institutions: MDI ConnectTech" event, in Washington.

30 Nov 09:50 ET / 13:50 GMT

REUTERS-NEXT/BHP-CEO

REUTERS NEXT - Interview with BHP CEO Mike Henry

Live broadcast interview: BHP CEO Mike Henry on the transformation of the energy industry.

30 Nov 11:00 ET / 15:00 GMT

POLITICS / INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS

USA-RAILROADS/

U.S. House plans to vote to block potential rail strike

U.S. House of Representatives plans to vote to block potential U.S. rail strike after President Joe Biden warned of dire economic consequences of rail disruption that could happen as early as Dec. 9.

30 Nov

USA-ELECTION/DEMOCRATS-PRIMARY

As US diversifies, Democrats to oust Iowa from top caucus spot

U.S. President Joe Biden may be a man of tradition but the Democratic Party he leads is poised to get rid of one of its oldest.

30 Nov

UKRAINE-CRISIS/NATO (PIX) (TV)

NATO foreign ministers meet in Bucharest

NATO foreign ministers meet in Bucharest, with discussions focusing on Russia's war on Ukraine. The meeting will be chaired by NATO Secretary-General Jens Stoltenberg

30 Nov

SINGAPORE-POLITICS/LGBT (PIX)

'Send your child away'? LGBT families struggle as Singapore lifts gay sex ban

While the government's decision to repeal a colonial-era sodomy law was cheered as a symbolic victory for the gay community, many worry LGBT families will continue to suffer under public policies that favour heterosexual marriages and families.

30 Nov

USA-BIDEN/ (PIX) (TV)

Biden hosts White House Tribal Nations Summit

U.S. President Joe Biden hosts White House Tribal Nations Summit at Interior Department in Washington.

30 Nov

USA-FRANCE/MACRON

Why Macron? French president scores first Biden state visit, wooed Trump & Putin

U.S. President Joe Biden will host Emmanuel Macron at the first White House state visit on Thursday since the Democrat took power in early 2021, in what officials from both countries say is a recognition of France's status as America's oldest ally.

30 Nov

USA-CONGRESS/DEMOCRATS (PIX) (TV)

U.S. House Democrats decide whether Hakeem Jeffries will lead them

Democrats in the U.S. House of Representatives on Wednesday hold an intra-party vote to determine whether New York's Hakeem Jeffries will lead them for the next two years in the minority as Speaker Nancy Pelosi steps down from leadership.

30 Nov

AUSTRIA-POLITICS/

Weekly Austrian cabinet meeting

Ministers hold a news conference after Austria's weekly cabinet meeting.

30 Nov 07:15 ET / 11:15 GMT

BRITAIN-POLITICS/PMQS (PIX) (TV)

PM takes questions in parliament

British Prime Minister Rishi Sunak takes questions in parliament.

30 Nov 08:00 ET / 12:00 GMT

REUTERS-NEXT/CANADA-TRUDEAU (PIX) (TV)

REUTERS NEXT - Interview with Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau

Live broadcast interview: Canada PM takes stock of the global economy and geopolitics in preparation for 2023.

30 Nov 10:20 ET / 14:20 GMT

UKRAINE-CRISIS/GERMANY-SECURITY (PIX) (TV)

Chancellor Olaf Scholz meets Norwegian Prime Minister Jonas Store

Joint press briefing after Germany's Scholz met Norwegian Prime Minister Store

30 Nov 10:30 ET / 14:30 GMT

CRIME / LAW / JUSTICE

MOZAMBIQUE-CREDIT SUISSE/VERDICT (TV)

Mozambique court expected to hand down verdict in $2 bln graft trial

A Mozambican court is on Wednesday expected to deliver its verdict in the trial of 19 people accused of crimes including money laundering, bribery and blackmail for their alleged roles in a $2 billion debt scandal that had dramatic implications for the nation's economy. The accused include senior government officials and a former president's son.

30 Nov

ARTS / CULTURE / ENTERTAINMENT

BRITAIN-ROYALS/KING-UKRAINE (PIX) (TV)

King Charles opens new Ukrainian Welcome Centre

Britain's King Charles opens the new Ukrainian Welcome Centre in London, where he will meet volunteers and displaced families from Ukraine.

30 Nov

JAPAN-LGBT/MARRIAGE (PIX) (TV)

Tokyo court rules on constitutionality of same-sex marriage

Tokyo court ruling on constitutionality of same-sex marriage, the third such case in Japan - the only G7 nation where same-sex marriage is not allowed. Of two previous rulings, one ruled in favour of same-sex marriage and one ruled against, making impact of Tokyo case big no matter how it goes.

30 Nov 01:00 ET / 05:00 GMT

ZIMBABWE-HEALTH/FITNESS (PIX) (TV)

Cemetery workouts help Zimbabwe township residents feel alive

It is early morning at a cemetery in Warren Park, about 10 kilometres west of central Harare and 19-year-old Lesly Madubeko is drenched in sweat from an hour-long workout. He woke up early to join dozens of fitness enthusiasts, enjoying their morning exercises in what he admits is an unusual location.

30 Nov 06:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

CONFLICTS / WAR / PEACE

UKRAINE-CRISIS/DEMANDS

What are Russia and Ukraine's positions on talks to end the war?

In the 10th month of the war, here is a factbox summary of what both sides are saying about their conditions for negotiating an end to it.

30 Nov

BELGIUM-SECURITY/TRIAL (PIX) (TV)

Opening of Brussels attacks trial

First day of the trial for the attacks at a Brussels metro station and the city's airport in March 2016 which killed 32 people and left hundreds injured. Day one likely to focus on jury selection, with proceedings set to begin on Dec 5.

30 Nov 04:00 ET / 08:00 GMT

HEALTH-CORONAVIRUS/CHINA-JAPAN-PROTEST (PIX) (TV)

Chinese nationals in Japan hold solidarity protest of COVID lockdowns at home

Chinese residents in Japan plan to hold a solidarity protest in Tokyo against China's COVID lockdowns at home.

30 Nov 06:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

Disclaimer

The above content is directly sourced from Reuters under a contractual arrangement. The content is being provided as a convenience and for informational purposes only; and does not constitute an endorsement or approval by Kalkine Media of any of the products, services, or opinions of the organization or individual. The user is apprised that Kalkine Media bears no responsibility for the accuracy, legality, or content of Reuters, any external sites, or for that of subsequent links. The user is requested to contact Reuters directly for answers to questions regarding the content. Please note that Kalkine Media may be compensated by the advertisers that appear on the website, based on your interaction with the advertisements or advertisers.

Featured Articles

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with it. OK