Delta State’s Patrick Shegog wins 2023 C Spire Conerly Trophy

November 29, 2023 08:45 PM EST | By EIN Presswire
Follow us on Google News:

Shegog was named Mississippi’s top college football player during the C Spire Conerly Trophy Presentation at Country Club of Jackson on Tuesday, Nov. 28, 2023

JACKSON, MISS., USA, November 29, 2023 / -- In a competitive vote following the conclusion of the college football season in the Magnolia state, Delta State University Quarterback Patrick Shegog has been named the 2023 C Spire Conerly Trophy winner. The award presented on Tuesday evening at the Country Club of Jackson recognizes the most outstanding college football player in Mississippi.

Named after Hall of Fame and Ole Miss great Charlie Conerly, this was the 28th presentation of the C Spire Conerly Trophy and the third winner from Delta State. Each four-year school in the state that plays football nominates one player as their Most Outstanding Player and a panel of media and scouts vote from those nominees to select the finalists and winner.

It was a great season for Coach Todd Cooley and his star quarterback. Patrick Shegog led the Statesmen to a 10-2 overall record and into the playoffs where DSU fell to Valdosta State 38-31 this past Saturday. Shegog completed over 62% of his passes, threw 32 touchdowns and ran for 12 more. He attempted 300 passes and only threw two interceptions.

Shegog is a graduate student from Batesville, Mississippi and South Panola High School. Previous winners from Delta State to take home the top player trophy were Tregnal Thomas in the first year of the award (1996) and Josh Bright four seasons later (2000).

The top three finalist for this year’s award were Shegog, last year’s recipient Quinshon Judkins of Ole Miss and Mississippi State linebacker Nathaniel Watson. CBS college football analyst Charles Davis was the master of ceremonies for the event.

“We are honored to partner with the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame for 25 years on awards given to the top-performing college athletes in the state,” said Jim Richmond, vice president of corporate communications and marketing operations. “We are proud to present the C Spire Conerly Trophy to the best college football player, an esteemed group that counts star quarterbacks Eli Manning and Dak Prescott as former winners. Congratulations to Patrick and Delta State University as well as all of the nominees!"

About C Spire
C Spire is a diversified telecommunications and technology services company that provides world-class, customer-inspired wireless communications, 1 Gigabit consumer Internet access as well as a full suite of dedicated Internet, wireless, IP Voice, data and cloud services for businesses. This news release and other announcements are available at For more information about C Spire, visit or follow us on Facebook at or Twitter at

About the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame
The Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame exists to promote, preserve and protect Mississippi’s rich sports heritage for this and future generations. The Museum serves as a destination for sports legends to live forever through interactive displays and exhibits where visitors can play, live and dream. The 501 (c) (3) organization recognizes excellence in athletics and contributions to sports. For more information about the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame & Museum, visit or follow us on Facebook at or Twitter at

Todd Smith
Deane | Smith
+1 6152027944
[email protected]


The content, including but not limited to any articles, news, quotes, information, data, text, reports, ratings, opinions, images, photos, graphics, graphs, charts, animations and video (Content) is a service of Kalkine Media Pty Ltd (Kalkine Media, we or us), ACN 629 651 672 and is available for personal and non-commercial use only. The principal purpose of the Content is to educate and inform. The Content does not contain or imply any recommendation or opinion intended to influence your financial decisions and must not be relied upon by you as such. Some of the Content on this website may be sponsored/non-sponsored, as applicable, but is NOT a solicitation or recommendation to buy, sell or hold the stocks of the company(s) or engage in any investment activity under discussion. Kalkine Media is neither licensed nor qualified to provide investment advice through this platform. Users should make their own enquiries about any investments and Kalkine Media strongly suggests the users to seek advice from a financial adviser, stockbroker or other professional (including taxation and legal advice), as necessary. Kalkine Media hereby disclaims any and all the liabilities to any user for any direct, indirect, implied, punitive, special, incidental or other consequential damages arising from any use of the Content on this website, which is provided without warranties. The views expressed in the Content by the guests, if any, are their own and do not necessarily represent the views or opinions of Kalkine Media. Some of the images/music that may be used on this website are copyright to their respective owner(s). Kalkine Media does not claim ownership of any of the pictures displayed/music used on this website unless stated otherwise. The images/music that may be used on this website are taken from various sources on the internet, including paid subscriptions or are believed to be in public domain. We have used reasonable efforts to accredit the source wherever it was indicated as or found to be necessary.

Top ASX Listed Companies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with it. OK